Facts You Don’t Know but You Should Know about Indian Politics

did you knew

Indian Politics is quite intense and is full of diverse activities and procedures. Moreover, the people directly involved in the politics come from every part of the country, hence making the Legislatures highly representative and all-inclusive. However, there are many facts related to the Indian politics which are not commonly known by the general public. Read on to find out more about such unknown facts.


  1. The Logic Behind Color

The colors used for the interior of both the Houses of Parliament has a significance which common people do not understand. The green color used in Lok Sabha represents the Agricultural lands of India, and the people in this house come from the grass root level. On the other hand, the red of Rajya Sabha represents the sacrifices made by the brave freedom fighters.

  1. 13 Days of Power

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was won the elections in 1996, however, their victory was short-lived, as their government lasted for just 13 days, hence making it the shortest-lived government in the history of Indian Governments.

  1. Aesthetic Constitution

The original Indian Constitution was handwritten by Prem Behari Narain. He used magnificent calligraphy, along with a flowing italic style. And all the pages of the constitution were beautified by the Shantiniketan artists.

  1. Just Three Voters

The lowest turnout in elections recorded till now is three. It happened in a polling station in Bomdila district, Arunachal Pradesh, where just three voters turned up for casting their votes.

  1. 13 For The President

The room number of the President’s office in the Parliament is 13, which is quite eccentric given the fact that many people consider 13 to be an unlucky number, and it is unlikely to use this number for the office of the Head of the country.

  1. The Victorious Bajpayee

The only politician to win from six different constituencies is Atal Bihari Vajpayee. He won form Balrampur in 1957 and 1967, Gwalior in 1971, New Delhi in 1977 and 1980, Vidisha in 1991, Gandhinagar in 1996, and Lucknow in 1991, 1996 and 1998.

These are some facts which have made the Indian Political interesting and unique over the course of years, and hence, has encouraged the common people to get more and more involved in the politics.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here